Did you know…

that your ankles do a lot of work to keep you from falling over? I didn’t. I just assumed my feet and legs were doing all the work. Until now…

I’ve realized that in PT that my ankles had to do with my balance and walking. I knew they were weak, like the most of me, but I didn’t get it. I never thought twice about them. Ankles. Yeah, everyone has them. They’re there. They’re important but why?

I mean I don’t know why, but I do know that they do a lot of shit that no one thinks about.

In PT, whenever I was asked to do anything that involved balance or something that had me put all my weight was on one leg, my ankles would shake. They still do. I don’t remember what it was I was doing exactly for that to happen but I do remember them going nuts.

For my cousin’s henna night, I wore heels. That was the first time I wore heels. I wore thick heels because they are more stable. I had to keep walking once I started. I wasn’t able to stop short to talk or say ‘hi’ to anyone. I just apologized and kept going. I just have to wear the heels whenever I can, around the house or start smaller than I did.

Either way, I have weak ass ankles. I need to make sure they don’t give up on me. I also have this fear that they will just stop supporting me. I keep picturing a scene from the movie ‘Hostel.’ The scene is when one of the killer men, cuts the prisoner’s Achilles tendon in both legs so he/she wouldn’t run away. The person just fell over. I imagine my ankles doing that on their own. I don’t know where I get this from but I did and I’m all about making my ankles decent. I don’t want to feel like, if I do something new, they might stop working (-_-)

Leave a Reply

