Feelings, Today, Update

It’s a sad time

On Friday, my grandfather passed away. He was in Turkey with my grandmother so he was where he wanted to be. It is hard but at the same time, we know he didn’t like the situation he was in. 

My grandfather was doing well after the chemo that he underwent to keep the tumor from getting bigger in his lung. The tumor had gotten smaller, that was a plus. He was doing extremely well during his chemo and after. He was very strong when it came down to it and you couldn’t tell he had chemo. He took care of himself. 

He went back to Turkey and Bulgaria to see family. While he was there he experienced a stroke and things went downhill from there. Just as much as we didn’t want this to happen, in the back of our mind, we knew this was a possibility. I think that seeing him on FaceTime every other day or so, made things easier. 

I had moments that I would get angry and annoyed with Grandpa, like the human that I am, but that never meant I wanted harm to come to him. He was a superb grandfather 🙌 I wouldn’t have asked for anyone else. 

What I have learned from my accident is that, no matter how much you know you need help, it is still hard to accept it. I don’t believe he enjoyed being cared for or helped to the extent that he was. My grandfather was an independent person. It is hard to undo that about yourself.

Thank you for everything, Gpa. Love you ❤️ 

 

Lol. He took that foto on accident when he was using the iPad to watch his Turkish television. 😆

Leave a Reply

