Today

…Sleep…

Normal people without brain damage, have trouble getting the sleep they need because they’re busy with life. After I came home from the hospital, I needed naps much like a baby. Every 2 hours of activity required a nap.

Then, it turned into me having trouble falling asleep because my mind starts going into hyper drive, which still happens. I’ll lie in bed and won’t fall asleep. It’ll take me like 2-4 hours and when I woke up in the morning with even 2 hours of sleep time, I won’t be traditionally tired throughout the day. I could still function normally and be okay.

Now, it’s a bit different. I don’t fall asleep right away unless my brain is tired and physically I’m tired. It is only then that I pass out.  I feel awful throughout the day if I didn’t get enough sleep. I slow down.

My doctor told me I have to get 12 hours of sleep a day and if I couldn’t for whatever reason, I needed to make it up with naps or the next day. The seizure thing requires me to get sleep. Who knew?

Can I stress how hard it is to get the sleep you’re supposed to get? It’s really hard. I am starting to do more things with friends and family and it is really hard to get the sleep in. I don’t know what to do with myself.

Right now, I am so tired but I can’t find the time because so much is going on! It’s hard to do the thing you are supposed to make sure you do. I don’t know how to balance anything yet. This is one of them. I’ll get it together…one day.

Leave a Reply

