Update

Accurate

If you have been keeping up with this blog or know me personally, give this Cracked article a read.
From what I have heard about my coma, since I don’t actively remember, this is give or take how it went down. This man put it together a bit better than I have. I didn’t simply fall but nothing happened to my body. I would have preferred the latter but alas, this is how the world works.
You could fall off the couch and mess up the brain. Damaging it is so simple, it’s scary. I would rather have my legs never working again than having my head all sorts of messed up. As long as my brain is untouched, I don’t care. Granted, if that happened instead, that would be the worst because I wouldn’t know the difference. Can’t win.
I do know, from everyone telling me, that I had to have my legs and arms tied because I would kick and I would try to rip off the stitches on my neck. I simply didn’t want it there. The faint line I have on my neck is there because I eventually succeeded but I wasn’t able to do damage. I didn’t like to sit still. I tired slithering out of the bed (which is my favorite moment). It took some time for me to talk or make a legitimate sound :/ The article mentions that this man lost two months. Yeah, two months of 2013, doesn’t exist. I dunno where it is. I didn’t have a ‘cage’ around my bed. My sister did not touch my brain.
I had lost a lot of weight and when I got out of the hospital I gained a decent amount. The hospital food was the best thing I had ever had. From what everyone says, I went nuts for it. I do vaguely remember it being delicious. There was some drink that I would have that just tasted amazing. I believe it was thickened apple juice (lol gross)
Walking was a bitch. It still is sometimes. My right foot wasn’t straight. That I remember. The foot was turned and pointing to the left. I had to train it to stay straight.
“…that’s another common symptom of traumatic brain injury: believing that you’re much better off than you really are. The brain-injured have pride, too.” This is correct. My way to finding this out was by attempting cart wheels in my living room when my mother left me alone for the first time. I learned quick that just because I can picture myself as doing something doesn’t mean I can in real life. As you can imagine, I did not succeed in the cartwheel department. I just rolled around on the ground. It was a joke.
Short term memory, you ask? This has gotten much better. I have posted about it before. It’s there. I just need help sometimes. I need cues. Words or a sentence cue and it all comes flooding back. Memory is doing well but it’s 100%.
This article is relatable. Not only for me but for friends and family that were around for a good chunk of it all.
Leave a Reply

