Physical Therapy

I wish physical therapy was still going on. I rather spend my time doing that. There are other things I want to do more at home like build on the wine glass project my sister and I started like two years ago. I wanted to spend the extra time time exercising and organizing my art closet. Those things though, can be done whenever. I can do all that on my own. I don’t need someone else to be there.

I need someone to be there with PT. I need someone to be around because most of the sessions revolved around balance. I can’t do things by myself.

My PT sessions were dealing with intricate maneuvers? I don’t know if that is the right word but PT was all about the details. Details that aren’t thought about by the average person because you just do it.

In the end, I want and hope my insurance approves some more PT sessions. 20 approved sessions are better than none.

Just when I was starting to see progress it all ended. That’s how the world works, it seems. If PT does get approved, I am going to make every minute count.

I started dancing. I started this past week to put in the Just Dance inspired, Michael Jackson Experience game. I figure it’ll get me moving and the goal is to be able to get some movement to music in without falling in time for my friend Joey’s wedding in June. I have a goal in mind. This way I won’t look like a baby trying to dance. Bopping up and down without moving my feet lol. Michael Jackson will help some, I hope.

That game is hard. The ‘easy’ songs seem to be the hardest. I try to do about an hour of that. I am not gonna touch Thriller for sometime. Maybe I’ll lose a bit of weight while I’m at it. That isn’t my goal anymore. I need small goals and that goal is to be dancing for Joey’s wedding. Can’t stop, won’t stop.

Smaller goals are easier to handle than big goals. Short term goals is more like it. Anything long term, doesn’t work for me and I have no urge to keep trying. Short term or small goals, keep me going forward. Next thing you know, you have accomplished more than you would have if you set high standards for yourself. It feels so good to get things done that you’ve been wanting to for like 5 years.

Go small, guys. Don’t set yourself up for failure. Sometimes you set yourself up for failure before you even begin. Being realistic isn’t being hard on yourself. That is what I have been trying to do with myself. Don’t get me wrong, it is difficult to get myself into that mindset when I have been doing it a different way my whole life up to this point. I’ve learned you have to be your own cheerleader. It’s nice when others are cheering you on but it’s even better when you are doing it too. Only I can get myself to do something.

Ugh. I sound like a grown up. I hate it (-_-)

Leave a Reply

