Slow down

Getting older is no joke. I now understand what the adults in my life meant when they said “don’t grow up” or “time flies” or “stop growing up.” Time, for real, speeds up when you get older. The day goes by so fast. Sometimes I don’t understand how it got to be 5pm. I remember being in elementary school and it took…forever…for the day to end and I can go home. Time doesn’t move when you’re much younger.

I went to France and Turkey. I spent 3 weeks in two countries and it wasn’t enough time there. In France, we did a lot but when I look back in a day we didn’t do too much with our day besides just going to the Eiffel Tower. Time is precious when you get older.

I’m sure there is some scientific explanation for all this. I don’t want to look it up (Here’s looking at you Chuck). I dunno what it is or how it is. I have an idea but the simplest thing I can say is that a kid hasn’t seen or done much (not that I have). Everything a kid does is new. Every situation is new and the interaction with others are new. As an adult, these aren’t new. We don’t have a lot of new information being processed by our brains.

My brain, however, as it heals, gets super tired. It gets tired because it’s constantly working to get better and a kid’s brain is growing. Our brain’s are at constant work.

When I’m in a situation that I’m not ready for or is new in any way, time doesn’t move fast enough. It becomes the longest gathering when there is a lot of new information much like when a child goes to school. They’re learning and everyday it’s a new topic. Time doesn’t move fast enough when your brain is tired.

The first example about France and Turkey doesn’t go with this because, even for a child, when you’re excited about a situation time flies. Time flies when you’re having fun but what I’m talking about is with the day in general.

It’s Saturday today and the next thing I know, it’ll be Wednesday and I don’t get how or when that happened. It would be nice if I actually did something with those days that passed. Summer is gonna be here like tomorrow and March is already half way done. I wanna do all these things in my day but I keep saying “tomorrow.” The next thing I know, it’s been two weeks that I have been saying that. At that point, I haven’t done what I set out to do.

It’s been 4 years and I’m still trying to get my life together. Here’s to getting older!

To Joey and Erin, Congratulations on your new addition to the family! She is gorgeous! Good job guys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

